Tags

,

“He says all of the women he’s dated are crazy,” she said. “Maybe I should start acting crazy because he seems to like crazy women.”

“I would hesitate to play your crazy card,” I advised. “Save it for an emergency.”

We all have moments of meltdown where we act a bit crazy. The ending of a relationship can be very stressful, and this seems to be when we act the most out of character. Maybe that is the last impression we leave on our soon-to-be ex, so they tell everyone we are crazy because that’s what they remember most vividly about their time together.

Personally, I don’t care for men that tell me their ex is crazy. Chances are, in the not-too-distant future, I’ll become his ex, and I don’t want him prancing around telling people I’m cray-cray.

Thinking about this topic, I realize there are times when people in relationships, either purposely or subconsciously, play their crazy card. Maybe they’re testing their boundaries. Maybe they’re pushing their significant other away. Maybe the relationship is over, and they don’t know how to deal with it in a way any more mature than to completely obliterate any good memories.

Whatever the reason, maybe it’s best to leave a good impression on our soon-to-be ex. It’s the best way to remain friends after the break-up. Further, hasn’t everyone figured out that, if he speaks poorly of his ex, he’ll speak poorly of you? Maybe we should all discuss our past relationships by simply saying, “It just didn’t work out.”

I’m sure eventually everyone’s crazy side accidentally sneaks out, so why would you purposely show it? Save it, baby. Save your crazy card for an emergency.

Happy dating!

Devil’s Elbow is the latest book available in the Harbor Secret Series.  You can get it in either hard copy or the Kindle version.  You can pick up a copy today at the Good Hart General Store!

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MCQ5AEC

devilselbow_web72

 

 

